ISO_Level5_Shift, ISO_Level5_Lock, ISO_Level5_Latch

Sergey Udaltsov sergey.udaltsov at
Fri Oct 14 14:03:06 PDT 2005

Hi ppl

There is infamous Canadian layout which currently is combined from two
parts (two groups) having 4 shift levels each. I really want to make
it single group, with 8 shift levels (sounds nice, isn't it?:). Which
is OK from XKB POV (well, according to the specs - and checked with
xkbcomp). The problem is that we don't have a special key for
switching to levels 5-8.
For levels 3 and 4, there are ISO_Level3_Shift, ISO_Level3_Lock,
ISO_Level3_Latch. My request is to add same 3 keys, but for level 5.
Is is a big task? I'd say no.
Does it make sense to you?



PS For a moment, I'll use F33-F35 which are almost never used except
for some exotic Sun layouts. But sure this approach suxx so I want
something architecturally correct.

More information about the xorg-arch mailing list